Why I Shall Forever Be Grateful To My …

Share This! A List of Reasons to be Grateful. By Losioki Somoire You saw me graduate high school – standing on that stage more stone than human, ancient invincible and undying. You saw my…

Source: Why I Shall Forever Be Grateful To My …

A List of Reasons to be Grateful.

By Losioki Somoire

Reasons to be grateful

There are a hundred reasons we need to be grateful

You saw me graduate high school – standing on that stage
more stone than human, ancient
invincible and undying.

You saw my passion and need for education,
And cherished my dreams to one day change this world,
there is much I gained since setting my foot forth here
Thank you for teaching me immortality is a feeling,
not a state of being.

That at times I forgot my role and only thought myself useless and incapable
But you saw and new exactly what I so wanted
Thank you for teaching me that I should always initiate change around me,
And not to wait for X to do
Thank you for teaching me that through books, myfreedom and prosperity is assured.
Again, through the same books, you coined morality in me,
that good is bigger than bad.

Then my first semester of college when I realized
the best learning doesn’t happen at desks, wooden and square –
but on the floor, dirty dorm room carpet,
sitting cross-legged with your friends
debating the existence of God.

Thank you for teaching me to listen more than I speak
and to give more love than I take.
And to praise more than I complain,
That before I doubt I should believe,
And thank you for teaching me that my seniors are a worth source of knowledge
Thank you for making me to understand what humility is; that to the old I should not rebuke, to the little ones I treat like sisters and brothers.

In your waters I lost a friendship –
watched it succumb like a sandcastle
to the foaming mouth of a rabid sea.
Thank you for teaching me some things
flourish at a distance but dissolve
at the first touch of closeness.

It was then I realized that, some things are good from far, but far from good.
Through your eyes I saw a larger world; you always watched my steps to see that I reach that mark.
So thank you Moi University and the stolen identity when I joined first year,
and my first time on the grounds of a higher institution, thank you for the new friends and lecturers who were kind and speak so fast others so rude.

Thank you for fresh pain and books
and people and a load of assignments
And thank you for the library that expanded my frontier of what I know now, bigger than what I knew before
and the chance to be called a student of this institution
and for the new opportunities to build my career, meet new people.
Thanks for all of it, even the bad parts.
Thank you for every new feeling.
Thank you.

Written by Losioki Somoire Source +254 Campus News Here

Standard

Leave a Reply

